Wellll, I've definitely been trying very hard to lose weight.
And it is definitely not working. Yet, anyway.
For the last week or so, I've been doing the Couch to 5K program. Today, I did Day 4. Not really, though...I really did Day 1 again...I'm not quite to the point where I can increase my running at all.
I have been doing pretty well with it, actually. As long as I remember to use my inhaler before I go, my breathing is ok...this last Sunday, I did it without the inhaler, and I was wheezing the whole way. I think that my asthma is of the "exercise-induced" variety...which is good, it means it's pretty easy to manage.
I also got new shoes last week, just for this. They're pretty good shoes...I went to Fleet Feet for them, so that they could give me a good running shoe that would actually work for me. And the shoes were expensive...over $100...but they do seem to work well.
Today was better than Sunday...I ran whenever it told me to run, and I didn't stop until it told me to stop. There were times when I paused it so that I could walk a little bit longer...but today was the first day I was able to run for 60 seconds every time it told me to. I'm hoping that, by the end of the week, I will be able to do this first set without a problem, and I can move on to the second set.
I am in a lot of pain tonight, though, and that's worrying me a bit. My shins HURT, like every time I walk at all. Also, by the end of the walk tonight, I had shooting pains from my back (near the top of my butt) down my legs. That's definitely alarming.
I hope I haven't moved too quickly with all of this. I probably have...but I'm still hovering around 180, and it's SO frustrating to me. I don't eat a lot of crap...I eat good stuff! When I want something sweet, I almost always go for low-sugar dried fruit or yogurt. I've been trying to increase the amount of soup I eat, since soup is pretty healthy. I just really want to CHANGE. Like, NOW.
There are some bike trails at a park near Atlanta that I want to try out. I am not comfortable at all with riding on real roads yet, but I'd really like to ride a little. Maybe I can do that once or twice a week, to help my shins and my back.
We'll see how I feel tomorrow. This week is a hard week, I'm doing 4 workouts instead of 3. Thursday is the next one, and hopefully some of the pain will be gone by then. My plan right now is just to power through it...I know that my problems with my knees and my shins and my back are all because of my weight, and I'm hoping that once I get some of the weight off some of the problems will disappear.
Ok, I'm falling asleep. Later.
No comments:
Post a Comment