Monday, January 3, 2011

A whole new year of kicking my own ass.

Sigh.

Well, the holidays are over. I did gain 3 pounds back, ultimately...but that was as of this morning, and it is right at the time in my cycle when I always gain a few pounds. So, those 3 pounds might be no pounds at all.

Overall, I feel I did fairly well in weight maintenance over the holidays. I've still lost, at the least, 7 pounds, which is definitely a good thing. My food intake has stayed relatively low, and my activity level is higher than it was before I started working out in earnest. I just need to get back into working out for real again...it's been SO difficult to do that, when I knew that just around the corner was another disruption.

Next week should start my last real disruption for a while, though. I'm going to Seattle next Thursday, and as I've said before that's kind of a "reset" for me. I sort of detox from a lot of the sugar I get in my normal life, and I tend to move around a bit more. I'll be back from Seattle on Saturday, January 22...I intend to maybe walk a bit on that Sunday, just to get back into the swing, and then Monday the 24th will start my real workouts again.

My plan is to get in at LEAST 3 good walking days per week to start, increasing to 4 eventually. I also plan to get back into the Slim-in-6 and the Wii, although I'm not sure yet about how many days per week I want to do those. I need to have a nice balance between those and walking, and I'd like to throw another couple of activities in there as well. My awesome boyfriend got me a bike rack for Christmas, so biking should be WAY easier.

I feel the need to set up a schedule for working out, after I get back from Seattle. So:

Sunday: Slim-in-6.
Monday: Walking, Wii Fit.
Tuesday: Walking.
Wednesday: Slim-in-6, Wii Fit.
Friday: Walking
Saturday: Some other activity. Biking, swimming, hiking...something different.

I think this will work. It starts me off with the one thing that KILLS me, has 3 days of walking, has another activity in there, and has Wednesday as my really hard day...which is fine, because Thursday is my day off. We'll see how this works when I start.

Ok, I feel a bit better. I'm just anxious to get started. My motivation has been SO nonexistent, and I'm tired of feeling vaguely like I should be moving more.

As far as eating, my resolutions for the new year include eating at least one serving of fruit per day...like one apple, one orange, a small bowl of grapes, etc. That's harder to do with vegetables, since they need to be cooked usually, but I want to start eating more veggies too. And post-Seattle is going to be a non-meat time...I've been eating a lot of meat lately, with holidays and such, and I don't like it.

Ok, that's it for now. : )

No comments:

Post a Comment

Followers