I hurt. A lot.
I shouldn't hurt this much. I didn't even work out Thursday (as per usual), and then I didn't work out yesterday because I was absolutely exhausted after a really terrible day, and I just took a long nap instead. So, today was my first day back to it.
To be fair, I walked almost 5 miles today. I have not really worked up to this, either...I went from 3.3 miles one week, to 4 miles the next week, to probably around 4.8 miles today. I maybe should have taken it a little more slowly...but now that I'm here, I want to keep going. If I can continue doing between 4 and 4.5 miles for the next 2 weeks, then maybe I can finally, actually, get up to 5 miles. 5 miles per day means roughly 500 CALORIES burned per day...and that's the recipe for losing a pound a week. Apparently, the second level of the SI6...which I've now decided to start tomorrow, btw...burns about 400 calories. Sooo...hopefully, that will do something?
I've continued to feel discouraged since my last entry. I'm still up around 175.5. I have been working out as much as I am able...in the last 4 weeks or so, I haven't taken more than 2 days off at a time, and I've been working out for between 4 and 6 days per week. I have increased my vegetable intake, I have decreased my sugar intake. I have been alternating my workouts, between walking, SI6, and the Wii, in order to get a healthy mix of strength training and aerobics. I KNOW that I am stronger...I can feel it, and I'm doing better on the balance portion of the Wii.
So...what the hell?
I know that it hasn't been that long. I know. It just feels like an eternity. I ache all over...my feet hurt, my shins hurt, my back is in absolute agony. It feels like I should weigh SO much less...but I don't. Even more cruelly, I weigh MORE. I keep wondering if I'm not doing enough...but how in the WORLD could I not be doing enough?! I am absolutely busting my ass.
My only solution right now is to give it more time. I think that, when I was exercising last year, it was 8 weeks before I really saw some results. So, I'm going to just keep at it. The end of April is roughly 8 weeks since I started up again. Hopefully I will have lost SOMETHING by that time.
By the end of this month, I'd like to be walking 5 miles at least 3 days per week. I'd also like to be doing the second level of the SI6 at least 2 days per week. At some point in there, I'd really love to start getting up earlier and doing some yoga before work. I don't know if that will work out...I like getting to work around 8, but then when I leave work so early I have a TON of time before I can walk on the days that I do that. But, yoga before work might make work easier to deal with...so I need to look into that.
Ok, there's a plan. It's late, I'm tired. Tomorrow I'll figure out a schedule for this next week. G'night.
No comments:
Post a Comment