Well, it seems that the Couch to 5k thing needs to be put on the back burner for a little bit.
My shins are just killing me. Even a week after I had last run, it was hurting to go up and down the stairs in my house. My back is fine, everything else seems to be ok...but my shins are in agony.
So, I've been walking. I walked one day last week (maybe Tuesday? Wednesday?), and then I walked again yesterday and today. I've gotten up to exactly 4 miles, which I'm pretty excited about. I'm not going to try to increase that for a while...I need to give my body some time to adjust. But 4 miles a day, at least 5 days a week, means 20+ miles per week...which means 2000+ calories burned! That's pretty good!
I still run just a little bit while I'm on my walk...but I only run as far as I can before my shins hurt and my breath is gone. My breathing is pretty good...I'm using my inhaler every time I go out for a walk...but I still can't run for very long without wheezing.
I find that I enjoy my exercise so much more when there isn't that pressure to run all the time. I like walking...I like the smells and the sights and everything. Running is just stressful.
I still feel like I need to do something more than just walking, even if I am walking 4 miles at a time. Maybe, once I get used to doing 4 miles 5 times a week, I can also add some other stuff like the Wii or the Slim in 6. I need to do a few weeks of just the walking, though, first.
I'm trying to eat pretty well. I've been having these low-fat frozen breakfast sandwiches in the morning, soup at lunch, and then pretty much whatever I can find for dinner. I feel like I've lost a few pounds, but of course the scale doesn't agree. Whatever...I know that walking that much is good for me, so I'm not going to worry about the scale for right now.
Ok, off to eat some soup for dinner. : ) Later.
Sunday, November 6, 2011
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment