Saturday, March 26, 2011

Limits

Guess what time it is, kiddos! That's right, it's roadblock time!!

Yeah.

When I really kicked ass and went 4 miles in an hour on Wednesday, I aggravated my shin splints again. I went to jog during my walk yesterday, and it was AGONIZING.

I also reeeeally overdid it yesterday, just in general. I went a lot earlier than normal, due to plans around 7:00, and it was still completely hot and sunny outside. I got SO hot, and I pushed myself absolutely to the limit. Despite the fact that I couldn't jog at all, I still made it in just a couple of minutes over an hour, and that was with the stops for red lights that are included in my new route. Which means I was seriously hoofing it, going an average of 4.0 mph overall.

I don't actually remember a whole lot from the first few minutes of when I got home. I think I literally almost passed out. I took a cool shower, and felt a good bit better, but I was still pretty loopy for the rest of the night. Then, around 11 or so last night, I was driving around and got the WORST cramps. My cycle had been pretty late, about 5 days...but that's usual when I start up a routine again. I've felt pretty terrible last night and today, so I'm pretty sure that was the major cause of my shitty feeling after my walk last night. That, and being too hot.

I didn't exercise today, mostly because of the crazy cramps and my legs hurting. I'll walk tomorrow, and maybe do the Wii or the SI6. I think I'm going to concentrate more on the Wii and the SI6 for the next week or two, to give the shin splints time to heal a bit. What I've read on the internet says that neither complete rest nor "running through it" are appropriate recovery techniques for shin splints, so I think that if I concentrate more on strength exercises and JUST walking over the next few weeks I should be alright.

I forgot to mention something about the Wii in my last entry. Well, actually, I had written an entire entry before my last one, but it got deleted when I tried to save, and I forgot that I hadn't actually saved it. I worked out on just the Wii Fit on...I think it was Tuesday. I was supposed to do both the Wii Fit and the SI6...but I was having a lot of fun on the Wii, so I decided to do all of the strength training exercised on there that I hadn't tried so far. And? Woo! Some of those are HARD! I hurt like fire for the next couple of days. On the plus side, it worked areas that I don't normally work...my shoulders, inner thighs and obliques got a crazy workout. So, I think that the best approach from now on with respect to strength training is to combine the SI6 with primarily the strength training exercised on the Wii Fit. I think that that will maximize the areas worked.

Ok, I am done for the evening. Tomorrow...strength and walking. Later!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Followers